Career Builder: Architecture Cover Letter

I have experience in office management and effectively working with a team to accomplish the principles of design. I have six years of experience in all phases of design and construction. I have undertaken residential, commercial, University Research, and educational design work. Major project experience includes the Ice House Lofts project in Tucson, Arizona, university laboratory facilities in Texas, Sublease Contract Management for BellSouth Louisiana, and the Monsanto Center at the Missouri Botanical Gardens. I am an accomplished AutoCAD technician, Corel Draw, Photoshop and PageMaker graphic designer.

I received my Bachelor of Arts, Major in Architecture, from Washington University in St. Louis. I studied architecture at Carnegie Mellon University’s Pre-College Summer Program for high school students. I was a shop monitor for the School of Architecture’s Wood Shop, supervising the use of metal and wood working equipment and constructing furniture for use by the school. In the Washington University School of Art Dean’s Office, I dealt with all office functions, including answering students and parent’s questions, handling confidential faculty, personnel and financial records, and scheduling appointments for the Dean.

I was an active Associate Member of the American Institute of Architects, developing many Continuing Education seminars for Interns and Professionals. Through the AIA, I have organized tours of significant works of architecture under construction in Houston and New Orleans, organized charettes and tours of threatened neighborhoods in St. Louis, developed a team of young professionals to design and rehab houses for the poor and elderly in Houston, and created the Intern Interactive for AIA Louisiana. I am involved with the Modern Architecture Preservation Project to educate and preserve significant works of Modern Architecture in Tucson, Arizona.

I am an advocate for recycling, cleaning our environment, and providing means for alternative modes of transportation. I planned a series of bicycle commuter routes in St. Louis and campaigned to bring a multi-modal transportation system to Tucson. I am working with community activists to insure a sense of shared responsibility between members of the community.

Leave a Reply

